The NCAA approves 11 officials to work the Final Four and National Championship

The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee approved 11 game officials to officiate the three games being played during the Final Four and national championship, April 2 and 4 at the Alamodome in San Antonio. The chosen officials “bring a combined experience of 63 Women’s Final Four appearances” according to the NCAA. Overall, 60 officials were selected for the entire NCAA tournament.

Penny Davis, the national coordinator of officiating, recommended the Final Four officials. A three-person crew will work each Women’s Final Four game. Two officials will be on standby officials for the three contests.

The selected officials:

  • Melissa Barlow, Las Vegas
  • Eric Brewton, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Gina Cross, Clearwater, Fla.
  • Cheryl Flores, Los Angeles
  • Maj Forsberg, Honolulu
  • Chuck Gonzalez, Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • Felicia Grinter, Antioch, Tenn.
  • Dee Kantner, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Brenda Pantoja, Las Vegas
  • Pualani Spurlock-Welsh, Decatur, Ga.
  • Joe Vaszily, Westfield, N.J.

Kantner will be working an unprecedented 24th Women’s Final Four in her career. Forsberg was also selected to work this summer’s Tokyo Games. Grinter is the 2020 Naismith College Official of the Year.

“The 2021 NCAA tournament officials have been an integral part of this most unique championship, enduring the same testing, protocols and controlled environment restrictions that were required of the participating teams,” said Davis. “Their professionalism, sacrifices, and dedication to officiating this tournament is appreciated and valued. We are fortunate to have such a committed, experienced, and qualified pool of officials to work in this historic final four. It is an honor and a privilege for these 11 women and men to be selected for these games on the biggest stage for women’s basketball. I am proud of each of them and their collective efforts.”

The officiating assignments will be announced an hour before each game.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

NCAA president Mark Emmert addresses media ahead of the Final Four

Read Next

Iowa’s Caitlin Clark wins the 2021 Dawn Staley Award