The USA will host one of four qualifying tournaments for the 2022 FIBA World Cup

USA 2018 World Cup Champion
Photo: USA Basketball.

The defending FIBA World Cup champion, the USA, is set to host one of four qualifying tournaments for the 2022 FIBA World Cup. Teams will play Feb. 10-13, 2022, in Washington, D.C. The other hosts are Osaka, Japan, and Belgrade, Serbia. Two tournaments will take place in Belgrade.

The tournaments are four-team, round-robin events. Details:

  • Teams participating in the qualifying tournaments are Australia, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Japan, Mali, Nigeria, Puerto Rico, Russia, Serbia, South Korea, and the United States.
  • The top three finishing teams in each of the four qualifying tournaments will advance to the 2022 World Cup.
  • The dates for the World Cup are Sept 22-Oct 1 in Sydney, Australia. 
  • Australia, as the host nation, is auto qualified for the World Cup. The USA secured its berth as the 2020 Olympic gold medal winner. However, the teams will participate in the World Cup qualification events.

The Washington, D.C. venue and ticket information will be announced later. The U.S. won the last three World Cup events and  has a 109-21 record all-time in World Cup play since the event launched in 1953.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Expansion of 2022 DI women’s basketball tournament to 68 teams approved

Read Next

Michaela Onyenwere receives her 2021 WNBA Rookie of the Year trophy