Dallas Wings forward Satou Sabally is the 2023 WNBA Most Improved Player

Satou Sabally

Dallas Wings forward Satou Sabally is the 2023 WNBA Most Improved Player. The four-year league veteran was the No. 2 overall pick in the 2020 WNBA Draft and received 37 of 60 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Los Angeles Sparks guard Jordin Canada came in second with 18 votes while Chicago Sky forward Alanna Smith garnered third with three votes. Two players received a vote each: Minnesota Lynx forward Napheesa Collier and Washington Mystics guard Brittney Sykes

This season Sabally averaged career highs of 18.6 points, 8.1 rebounds, 4.4 assists, and 1.8 steals. Her stats last season: 11.3 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 0.5 steals. Overall, for the 2023 regular season, she ranked ninth in the league in scoring, 10th in rebounding, 13th in assists, and fourth in steals. Additionally, she improved her overall field goal percentage to a career-best 43.5 percent and her three-point shooting from 23.3 percent last season to 36.1 percent in 2023. The 6-4 forward is a two-time All-Star.

Sabally’s efforts helped Dallas earn the most wins (22) and the highest regular season winning percentage (.550) since 2008 when the team was still known as the Detroit Shock. The Wings secured a No. 4 seed in the WNBA Playoffs and advanced to a semifinal series against the reigning champion Las Vegas Aces on Sunday, Sept. 24 (5 p.m. ET, ESPN2).

An All-America selection out of Oregon, the German native has played for her country’s national team as well. She will receive $5,150 and a trophy designed to commemorate the achievement.

Previous WNBA Most Improved Player Winners

Season Player Team
2000 Tari Phillips New York Liberty
2001 Janeth Arcain Houston Comets
2002 Coco Miller Washington Mystics
2003 Michelle Snow Houston Comets
2004 Kelly Miller Indiana Fever
Wendy Palmer Connecticut Sun
2005 Nicole Powell Sacramento Monarchs
2006 Erin Buescher Sacramento Monarchs
2007 Janel McCarville New York Liberty
2008 Ebony Hoffman Indiana Fever
2009 Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics
2010 Leilani Mitchell New York Liberty
2011 Kia Vaughn New York Liberty
2012 Kristi Toliver Los Angeles Sparks
2013 Shavonte Zellous Indiana Fever
2014 Skylar Diggins-Smith Tulsa Shock
2015 Kelsey Bone Connecticut Sun
2016 Elizabeth Williams Atlanta Dream
2017 Jonquel Jones Connecticut Sun
2018 Natasha Howard Seattle Storm
2019 Leilani Mitchell Phoenix Mercury
2020 Betnijah Laney Atlanta Dream
2021 Brionna Jones Connecticut Sun
2022 Jackie Young Las Vegas Aces
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Las Vegas Aces forward Alysha Clark named the 2023 WNBA Sixth Player of the Year

Read Next

Las Vegas Aces center A’ja Wilson is the 2023 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year

Data powered by Oddspedia