Las Vegas Aces forward Alysha Clark named the 2023 WNBA Sixth Player of the Year

2023 WNBA Sixth Player of the Year, Alysha Clark. Photo: WNBA.
2023 WNBA Sixth Player of the Year, Alysha Clark. Photo: WNBA.

Las Vegas Aces forward Alysha Clark is the 2023 WNBA Sixth Player of the Year in her first year with the franchise. It is the first honor as the league’s top reserve for the 11-year veteran who is also a two-time WNBA All-Defensive Team selection. A panel of sportswriters and broadcasters voted on the recipient. Clark received 35 of 60 votes.

A player must play more games as a reserve than as a starter to be eligible for the award. Clark averaged 6.7 points, 3.4 rebounds and 1.1 assists in 22.5 minutes per game. She played in all 39 of Las Vegas’ regular-season games, coming off the bench 38 times and starting once.

Connecticut Sun guard/forward DiJonai Carrington finished second with 13 votes while Chicago Sky guard Dana Evans came in third with nine votes. Dallas Wings center Kalani Brown, New York Liberty guard Marine Johannès, and Seattle Storm guard Sami Whitcomb received one vote each.

Highlights of Clark’s season:

  • She made 38.6 percent of her three-point shots, ranking 17th in the WNBA in that category.
  • She scored in double figures in 10 games, including a season-high 16 points.
  • She recorded five or more rebounds 11 times.

Clark’s efforts helped the Aces earn a 34-6 record and secure the No. 1 seed in the 2023 WNBA Playoffs. The Aces advanced to the WNBA Semifinals and are set to host the winner of the series between the Dallas Wings and the Atlanta Dream on Sunday, Sept. 24, at 5 p.m. ET (ESPN2).

The Aces have the most victories and the fifth-best winning percentage (.850) in a regular season in league history. The team also earned the highest offensive rating (113.0) and the most 100-point games (11) ever by a franchise in the league.

Clark is the third Aces player to win the Sixth Player of the Year honor. She joins Kelsey Plum (2021) and Dearica Hamby (2020 and 2019). Clark will receive $5,150 and a trophy designed to commemorate the award.

Previous WNBA Sixth Player of the Year Winners

Year Player
2022 Brionna Jones
2021 Kelsey Plum
2020 Dearica Hamby
2019 Dearica Hamby
2018 Jonquel Jones
2017 Sugar Rodgers
2016 Jantel Lavender
2015 Allie Quigley
2014 Allie Quigley
2013 Riquna Williams
2012 Renee Montgomery
2011 DeWanna Bonner
2010 DeWanna Bonner
2009 DeWanna Bonner
2008 Candice Wiggins
2007 Plenette Pierson
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Connecticut Sun’s Stephanie White named 2023 WNBA Coach of the Year

Read Next

Dallas Wings forward Satou Sabally is the 2023 WNBA Most Improved Player

Data powered by Oddspedia