Candidates announced for the 2019 Katrina McClain Award for nation’s top power forward

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the 20 watch list candidates for the 2019 Katrina McClain Award. The award recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain made her mark as one of the best power forwards to ever play the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We’re thankful to have her involvement in the selection of the Naismith Starting 5 and look forward to watching the outstanding young women on this watch list compete throughout the season.”

The award’s selection committee includes media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. The list will be narrowed to 10 in mid-February. Fans will have a chance to vote for the five finalists who will be announced in March. The winner of the award will be revealed at the 2019 Final Four in Tampa. Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season.

Last season, Ruthy Hebard of Oregon was named the inaugural winner of the award.

2019 Katrina McClain Award Candidates

Kianna Ibis Arizona St.
Lauren Cox Baylor
Reyna Frost Central Michigan
Napheesa Collier Connecticut
Audrey Faber Creighton
Sara Rhine Drake
Caliya Robinson Georgia
Peyton Williams Kansas St
Brianna Fraser Maryland
Alex Johnson Middle Tennessee
Anriel Howard Mississippi St.
Pallas Kunaiyi-Akpanah Northwestern
Jessica Shepard Notre Dame
Ruthy Hebard Oregon
Bella Alarie Princeton
Alexis Jennings South Carolina
Alanna Smith Stanford
Amy Okonkwo TCU
Charli Collier Texas
Megan Huff Utah
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Mississippi State warms up with annual Maroon and White scrimmage

Read Next

Candidates announced for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award for nation’s top center

Data powered by Oddspedia